Don Reitan Quintet – Ms-Sippi Cookin’ Vol.II




Artist: Don Reitan Quintet
Title: Ms-Sippi Cookin’ Vol.II

Don Reitan – Piano
Mike Serpas – Trumpet
Jay Cave – Bass
Rick Bell – Tenor Saxophone
Lee Charlton – Drums
Featuring Jackie Henderson – Vocals

Pianist extraordinaire Don Reitan was a master of chord progressions and an innovative composer who made his mark in early 60s jazz explosion on the Gulf Coast. A gifted bandleader and mentor, he brought together the vibrant performances you’ll hear in this live recording from `Chez Joey. This second volume of Ms-Sippi Cookin swings as hard as the first, balancing spirited performances by each of the players, and reaching an apex with Reitans high-energy Orbit.


1. Blackeyed Peas & Collard Greens
2. That Certain Smile
3. Serenata
4. Soft Winds
5. Love For Sale
6. He’s Funny That Way
7. What Is There To Say
8. Cry Me A River
9. Orbit
10. Blues Backstage
11. The Preacher

Sample of song #9