Bryce Rohde Duo – Always Come Back Here




Artist: Bryce Rohde Duo – featuring Bruce Cale
Title: Always Come Back Here
Bryce Rohde – Piano
Bruce Cale – Bass

Bryce Rohde was born in Hobart, Tasmania and raised in Adelaide, South Australia. He studied Classical music for seven years   until the age of eighteen. During World War II, Rohde started along the road to “popular” music and a correspondence course in big band arranging. The post- war period was spent  playing for dances in a group playing Benny Goodman/ Artie Shaw small group charts.

Rohde is a founding member of the Australian Jazz Quintet, that toured the United States and Canada in the mid-fifties for about four years. The Australian Jazz Quintet played Carnegie Hall, the Chicago Opera House and many concert halls in jazz package deals which included Oscar Peterson, Miles Davis, Stan Getz, Woody Herman and many other great jazz artists. Currently, Rohde resides in California often visting his friends in Australia where this CD was produced and recorded. Of the  twelve songs on this CD, Rohde wrote and arranged nine.

1. Let’s Hurry off
(to some Other Place)
2. Millstream
3. How Many Thunders Do You Need?
4. Darn That Dream
5. Soft Sounds: Taste of Wine
6. Warmer
7. Joanne
8. Blue Mountain
9. Always Come Back Here
10. Lester Left Town
11. Windows of Arquez
12. Let’s Hurry off  (reprise)

Sample of song #9